I lead the Practical and Actionable Software Engineering Research (PASER) group at Tennessee Tech University. Members of the PASER group work on software engineering research problems that have implications for practitioners.


  1. Farzana Ahmed Bhuiyan, PhD Student, Tennessee Tech University Website
  2. Shazibul Islam Shamim, PhD Student, Tennessee Tech University Website
  3. Farhat Lamia Barsha, PhD Student, Tennessee Tech University


  1. Stacy Prowell, Distinguished Researcher, Oak Ridge National Lab, TN Web
  2. Effat Farhana, Post-doctoral Scholar, Vanderbilt University, TN Web
  3. Fan Wu, Professor and Department Head, Tuskegee University Web
  4. Chris Parnin, Associate Professor, NC State University, NC Web
  5. Hossain Shahriar, Associate Professor, Kennesaw State University, GA Web


  1. Dibyendu Brinto Bose (B.Sc.), currently at TBD
  2. Justin Murphy (M.Sc.), currently at CISA, DHS
  3. Raunak Shakya (M.Sc.), currently at MineralWare
  4. Anceito Rivera (B.Sc.), currently at SAIC

Awarded External Grants

  1. Co-PI, Tennessee Tech Cybercorps Renewal: An Enahnced and Integrated Scholar Experience in Cybersecurity, National Science Foundation (Aug 2021 - Jul 2026), Amount: 4,359,294 USD. PI: Ambareen Siraj, Co-PI: Denis Ulybychev, Eric Brown, Maanak Gupta (Tennessee Tech University)
  2. PI, Cybersecurity Mini Grant (Sub-award), National Science Foundation (Dec 2020 - Mar 2021), Amount: 5,000 USD. Co-PI: Dennis Ulybychev (Tennessee Tech University)
  3. PI, SaTC: TTP: Small: eSLIC: Enhanced Security Static Analysis for Detecting Insecure Configuration Scripts, National Science Foundation (Oct 2020 - Sep 2023). Co-PI: Chris Parnin (NC State University), Amount: 444,720 USD (Total), 244,742 USD (Share of Tennessee Tech University).

Noteworthy Achievements of PASERs

  1. Shazibul Islam Shamim, Bronze Award, Student Research Competition, ESEC/FSE 2021
  2. Akond Rahman, Distinguished Reviewer, Mining Software Repositories (MSR) 2021
  3. Akond Rahman, 2019-2020 Nominee for the Council of Graduate Schools/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award, NC State University
  4. Akond Rahman, 2019-2020 COE Distinguished Doctoral Dissertation Award, NC State University
  5. Akond Rahman, 2019-2020 CSC Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award, NC State University
  6. Farzana Ahamed Bhuiyan, Best Student Paper Award, 33rd Florida Artificial Intelligence Research Society (FLAIRS) 2020
  7. Akond Rahman, ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Paper Award, ICSE 2019 - Technical Track
  8. Farhat Lamia Barsha, Best Student in Research, Department of ECE, Military Institute of Technology (MIST), Bangladesh, 2019
  9. Farhat Lamia Barsha, Best Paper Award, IEEE WIECON-ECE 2019
  10. Akond Rahman, ACM SIGSOFT Best Paper Award, ICSE 2018 - Doctoral Symposium
  11. Akond Rahman, Microsoft Open Source Challenge 2016 - Grand Prize
  12. Shazibul Islam Shamim, Best Poster Award, Bioinformatics and Stringology Conference (BIOS) 2015

Open Source Software

  1. SLIC for Ansible
  2. SLIC for Puppet
  3. ACID for Puppet